Skip to content

Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Latest health advice and information on service disruptions.

Local elections

Gateshead has 66 councillors, three representing each of the 22 wards in the borough. At a local election one seat in every ward is contested. Each councillor must stand for re-election after four years' service.

Elections took place in all 22 wards of Gateshead in 2019.

View the list of candidates.

Notice of casual vacancy

Icon for pdf Notice of Casual Vacancy for Birtley Ward [10.62KB]


Contact us

Electoral Services
Gateshead Council
Civic Centre
Regent Street

0191 433 7001

Share this page