Toggle menu

Poisons licence

The retailing of poisons is controlled by the Poisons Act 1972. The Poisons List Order contains a list of poisons covered by the Poisons Act.

The Active Ingredients approved for use in the UK and included in the product searches are specified under Parts I and II of the Poisons List, as follows.

Part I - sale restricted to registered retail pharmacists

  • aluminium phosphide
  • methyl bromide
  • chloropicrin
  • sodium cyanide
  • magnesium phosphide
  • strychnine

Part II - sale restricted to registered retail pharmacists and listed sellers registered with local authority

  • aldicarb;
  • endosulfan;
  • paraquat (d);
  • alphachloralose;
  • fentin acetate;
  • phorate (a);
  • ammonium bifluoride;
  • fentin hydroxide;
  • sodium fluoride, carbofuran (a);
  • formaldehyde;
  • sulphuric acid;
  • chlorfenvinphos (a,b);
  • mephosfolan;
  • thiometon;
  • demeton-s-methyl;
  • methomyl (f);
  • triazaphos (a);
  • dichlorvos (a,e);
  • nicotine (c);
  • zinc phosphide;
  • disulfuton (a);
  • oxamyl (a).


  1. Granular formulations which do not contain more than 12% w/w of this, or a combination of similarly flagged poisons, are exempt;
  2. Treatments on seeds are exempt;
  3. Formulations containing not more than 7.5% of nicotine are exempt;
  4. Pellets containing not more than 5% paraquat ion are exempt;
  5. Preparations in aerosol dispensers containing not more than 1% w/w active ingredient are exempt. Materials impregnated with dichlorvos for slow release are exempt;
  6. Solid substances containing not more than 1% w/w ai are exempt.

Download the application form below, complete and return it to the address shown.


External links

The Poisons List (Amendment) Order 1992 (opens new window)

Contact us

Gateshead Council
Civic Centre
Regent Street

0191 433 4741