The Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act 2010 requires the council, along with other public sector organisations, to comply with the Equality Duty, which came into force in April 2011. 

This builds on the previous equality duties which covered different strands of equality such as race, disability and gender by bringing them together in law under one Equality Duty, which has both a general and specific elements.

The new duty covers nine protected characteristics:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender
  • race
  • religion and belief
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • sexual orientation
  • gender reassignment.

The General Duty requires the council to have due regard to the need to:

  • eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation
  • advance equality of opportunity
  • foster good relations - including tackling prejudice and promoting understanding

The Specific Duties require the council to:

  • publish information by 31 January 2012 to demonstrate its compliance with the general equality duty
  • Publish and prepare one or more objectives that it thinks it needs to achieve to further any of the aims of the general equality duty. This must be done by 6 April 2012 and at least every four years after that.

The council has developed its approach to tackling inequality and our Icon for pdf Equality and Diversity Annual Report [173.33KB] sets out how we are promoting equality in Gateshead.

While we have made progress in tackling inequality, we know we have more to do.

Icon for pdf Equal Opportunities Policy [28.76KB]

Share this page