Coronavirus (COVID-19)
View the latest COVID-19 information and advice, including details of the current lockdown rules and service updates
Toggle menu

MPs and MEPs

Find your local MP

For more information about your MP, including details of their parliamentary career and contact details, visit the Parliament website

You can search for your local MP by postcode, constituency or name.

Search for an MP


An MP represents a particular constituency and is elected by the voters of that constituency. The role of the MP is to represent the interests of all the people of their constituency in the House of Commons in London.

The following Members of Parliament were elected to represent the Gateshead constituencies:

Gateshead constituency

Ian Mearns (Labour)
12 Regent Terrace

0191 477 0651

Wards in Constituency:

  • Dunston and Teams
  • Lobley Hill and Bensham
  • Saltwell
  • Low Fell
  • Chowdene
  • Bridges
  • Deckham
  • High Fell
  • Felling
  • Windy Nook and Whitehills

Blaydon constituency

Liz Twist (Labour)
St Cuthbert's Church Hall,
Shibdon Road,
NE21 5PT

0191 4142488.

Wards in Constituency:

  • Blaydon
  • Birtley
  • Chopwell and Rowlands Gill
  • Crawcrook and Greenside
  • Ryton, Crookhill and Stella
  • Lamesley
  • Whickham North
  • Whickham South
  • Dunston Hill and Whickham East
  • Winlaton and High Spen 

Jarrow constituency

Kate Osbourne (Labour)
The Clervaux Exchange
Clervaux Terrace
NE32 5UP

0191 466 1509

Wards in Constituency:

  • Wardley and Leam Lane
  • Pelaw and Heworth


An MEP is an elected representative of a particular region and their role is to represent the interests of the people in their region at the European Parliament.

The following Members of the European Parliament represent the North East. They were elected using proportional representation.

Brian Monteith (The Brexit Party)

Committee(s): Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection

John David Edward Tennant (The Brexit Party)

Committee(s): Committee on Industry, Research and Energy

Jude Kirton-Darling (Labour Party)

Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats 
Committee(s): Committee on International Trade, Committee on Petitions
0191 620 0105

External links

UK Parliament website

European Parliament Information Office

Was this page useful?