Term dates

2018/19 | 2019/20

Voluntary aided (church) schools may adopt different term dates to those set by the Council. Visit our Voluntary Aided Schools term dates page for more information. If you have any enquiries regarding these dates, please contact the school direct. 

The term dates below have been agreed for all community Schools in Gateshead.

 

Community School term dates for 2018/19

Autumn term

Start of termHalf term Last day of term
Monday 3 September 2018Monday 22 - Friday 26 October 2018Friday 21 December 2018

Spring term

Start of termHalf term Last day of term
Monday 7 January 2019Monday 18 - Friday 22 February 2019Friday 5 April 2019

Summer term

Start of termHalf term Last day of term
Tuesday 23 April 2019Monday 27 - 31 May 2019 (Bank holiday 27 May)Friday 19 July 2019

In addition to the above dates, schools will be closed to pupils on Monday 6 May 2019 (Bank Holiday).

Two days within the above terms are to be used for professional development for staff. These dates are to be determined and agreed by individual school governing bodies.

In addition, one occasional day within the Summer Term 2019 is to be utilised for the purpose of closure for possible election purposes, this day to be used near the end of the summer term and agreed by individual school governing bodies.

The start of the Autumn Term 2019 is proposed as Monday 2 September 2019.

Community School term dates for 2019/20

Autumn term

Start of termHalf termLast day of term
Monday 2 September 201921 - 25 October 2019Friday 20 December 2019

Spring term

Start of termHalf termLast day of term
Monday 6 January 202017 - 21 February 2020Friday 3 April 2020

Summer term

Start of termHalf termLast day of term
Monday 20 April 202025 - 29 May 2020 (bank holiday 25 May)Friday 17 July

All dates are inclusive.

In addition to the above dates, schools will be closed to pupils on Monday 4 May 2020 (Bank Holiday).

Three days within the above terms are to be used for professional development for staff. These dates are to be determined and agreed by individual school governing bodies.

In addition, one occasional day within the Summer Term 2020 is to be utilised for the purpose of closure for possible election purposes, this day to be used near the end of the summer term and agreed by individual school governing bodies.

The start of the Autumn Term 2020 is proposed as Tuesday 1 September 2020.

Contact us

School Organisation and Admissions Team
Dryden Centre
Evistones Road
Low Fell
Gateshead
NE9 5UR

0191 433 2757 / 0191 433 2756 / 0191 433 2109

Share this page