Toggle menu

North East Combined Authority

The North East Combined Authority was established in April 2014 and brought together the seven councils which serve County Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland.

The boundaries of NECA were changed on 2 November 2018 by the Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside and Northumberland Combined Authority (Establishment and Functions) Order 2018. 

Because of the governance changes NECA now covers the local authorities of Durham, Gateshead, South Tyneside and Sunderland.

The authority will deliver a coordinated approach to important issues affecting the region. These are issues such as transport, skills and attracting investment. 

It will not replace individual councils. They will continue to deliver most of the services to local communities.

North East Combined Authority


The council will continue to have an open dialogue with Government. We will also work with our neighbouring local authorities who have progressed with the deal. This way, we can ensure the best possible outcome for the people of Gateshead and the North East. 

For further information, visit the devolution section on the North East Combined Authority website

Help us improve this site by giving feedback