Addison Village was a close knit community where neighbours had the reputation of being kind, respectful and caring of each other.
Most of the houses were 'back to back' having one room upstairs and one downstairs. If a miner died or was killed in the pit, his widow and family were given a few days to find another home, or they were evicted into the street. The cottages in Low Row and High Row were stone built. Those in Cross Row, built slightly later, were a combination of stone, brick and cinder (giving rise to the nickname 'Cindy Ra'.)
The Coal Company built a Primitive Methodist Chapel in 1865. From here many social activities were organised, including the Addison Male Voice Choir. Other activities included a Drum and Fife Band, Boy Scouts, St John’s Ambulance Brigade and the womens’ Apron Club. The Miners Welfare Association provided a recreation ground and paddling pool.
The Jubilee Institute contained a reading room with 1500 books and a Billiards Room. Wedding receptions and dances were held there although the Coal Company did not allow a licence for the sale of alcoholic drinks.
The Company also built Hedgefield School in 1866 with a capacity for 180 children. This operated until 1907 when the Juniors were transferred to Crookhill.
As the coal seams declined miners moved to work in other pits. Owing to the falling population the amount of public money spent on the village was limited to its category D status and in 1958 demolition began.
Today all that remains of a vibrant community are a few stones and bricks, the photographs in our archives and the memories of the people that lived and worked here.