Skip Navigation 1 - Home Page 3 - Site Map 4 - Search 5 - A to Z 6 - Help 7 - Complaints Procedure 8 - Information Rights 9 - Council Contacts 0 - Access key details

Police and Crime Commissioner Elections


Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) Election 2016

The Police and Crime Commissioner Election for the Northumbria Police Force Area took place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Declaration for Northumbria Police Area:

Vera Baird (Lab) elected with a majority of 121,766

Vera Baird (Lab) 180,479
Stewart Thomas Hay (Cons) 58,713
Melanie Hurst (Ukip) 52,293
Jonathan Charles Wallace (Lib Dem) 34,757

Turnout: 32.1%

Gateshead PCC results:

Vera Baird majority of 18,658 Turnout 34.7%

Vera Baird (Lab) 27,588
Jonathan Charles Wallace (LD) 8,930
Melanie Hurst (Ukip) 7,473
Stewart Thomas Hay (Cons) 4,757


Notice of Election (19Kb)

Notice of Poll (15Kb)

Notice of Election Address Deadline (9Kb)

Statement of Persons Nominated (13Kb)

Notice of Election Agents (14Kb)

Situation of polling stations

Visit the Sunderland City Council website for more information about the PCC election.

For more information about the candidates visit 

The Police and Crime Commissioner has a statutory duty and electoral mandate to hold Northumbria police to account on behalf of local residents.

Commissioners have a set four-year term of office and a maximum of two terms.

Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) role includes:

  • meeting the public regularly to listen to their views on policing
  • producing a police and crime plan setting out local policing priorities
  • deciding how the budget will be spent
  • appointing Chief Constables and dismissing them if needed.

Information about the Police and Crime and Commissioner Panel


Contact us

Electoral Services
Gateshead Council
Civic Centre
Regent Street

0191 433 2166