1 - Home Page 3 - Site Map 4 - Search 5 - A to Z 6 - Help 7 - Complaints Procedure 8 - Information Rights 9 - Council Contacts 0 - Access key details

North East Combined Authority


The following councils have come together to form the North East Combined Authority:

  • Durham
  • Gateshead 
  • Newcastle
  • North Tyneside
  • Northumberland
  • South Tyneside
  • Sunderland

This authority will deliver a more coordinated approach to important issues affecting the region. These are issues such as transport, skills and attracting investment. 

This will not replace individual councils. They will continue to deliver the vast majority of services to local communities.

Visit the North East Combined Authority website


North of Tyne Devolution

In November the three North of Tyne Authorities of Newcastle City Council, North Tyneside Council and Northumberland County Council agreed a 'minded-to' devolution deal with Government

In order to access the new powers and funding in the deal a new Mayoral Combined Authority needs to be created for the North of Tyne area.

The creation of a North of Tyne Combined Authority will require Newcastle, North Tyneside and Northumberland councils to come out of the existing North East Combined Authority (NECA) of which Gateshead Council is a member. The North of Tyne Devolution consultation explains these changes and seeks your views.

For further information, visit the devolution section on the North East Combined Authority website